“Invisible” Racism: #justiceforcolten

justiceforcoltenAuthor: Caleb Anacker

For days I’ve been thinking about how to honor the anger and sorrow of my Indigenous cousins around the Stanley trial without fueling the fires of hatred, abuse, and judgment. The same thoughts keep rising about how important it is for me to talk about the racism that coats our society. Often, I see that the worst oppression happens because it exists everywhere all at once. It can be invisible to white settlers like me because, unlike my Indigenous cousins, we never have to feel that burden smothering us over…over…and over. Racism of this nature is so thorough that we white settlers can’t or won’t listen to its victims when they try to show it to us. Our reality can’t seem to comprehend it. It is not my intention to speak over or on behalf of Indigenous peoples in this matter. I hope by speaking my own truth more people come to realize at least one perspective of why Colton Boushie’s death is such a great injustice to all his relations.

I’m not going to rehash the entire case and I won’t touch on the many other reasons why racism was a central factor in Boushie’s death and Stanley’s verdict. I also recognize that my access to sources is limited and probably biased. I’m relying on the CBC News article by Guy Quenneville on February 6, 2018. The narrow period that I want to look at is what happened when Gerald Stanley heard a vehicle coming down his driveway as told from his perspective. I want to focus on something that I haven’t heard yet and it keeps coming back to my mind.

Gerald Stanley hears an SUV loudly coming down the driveway. His son and he see an Indigenous man get out and try to start their ATV. They do not know about the alleged theft earlier in the day. They do not know these young people’s state of sobriety or intentions. When they hear the ATV start, they run towards it. Mr. Stanley kicks the tail light and his son smashes the windshield with a hammer and the SUV stops near the house. Mr. Stanley now runs to his shop to get his handgun. This is the moment that I want to emphasize. According to his own account, Mr. Stanley grabs the weapon that he uses to scare off wild animals. The weapon for scaring off wild animals. Think about the value that Mr. Stanley might be giving to the lives of these Indigenous young people. In his moment of panic, the value of Indigenous lives is the same as wild animals. By comparison, his immediate reaction was to use a firearm to threaten the lives of people who, at this point, had allegedly violated his personal property. Personal property is never more valuable than life.

For the Boushie family, I give my deepest condolences. I pray that you find healing and forgiveness even in the midst of this tragedy. I hope you find that justice is restored. To the Wuttunee, Meechance, Cross-Whitstone, and Jackson families, I pray you also find healing from this great trauma and loss. I wish there was something more I could say and do.

For the Stanley family, I hope this tragedy transforms you. I pray that you understand how deeply the boundaries have been broken. What has been taken can never be given back. Let that motivate you to spend the rest of your lives trying to restore justice and good relationship with your Indigenous neighbors. I pray that the anger, hatred, and sorrow that is no doubt being launched upon you does not crush your determination to take opportunities to make things better.

Leave a comment